A Little Bit Of This and That

The winter has just started and the hot stove is warming up. The good news is that it seems to be in ways we expected. The big shocker was the rumor that Jay Bruce is trying to extend his contract again, already. I never heard of a player who already has 3 years left on his deal go to his team and ask for an extension. Who doesn’t take a look at the market? The crazy thing is that I would say this would benefit the team, but with the money we’ve spent in recent years we could see a bigger, longer deal as a handcuff for us. I will be interested to see what comes of it.

Do you get baseball hangovers? I usually do, and they usually last longer than mine did this year. Much like and alcoholic loves booze,, I love baseball. Yet there is those weeks (and usually months) after the seasons over I’m like “Thank god that’s over” It’s when watching the World Series is like having just a few more drinks because your friends are sticking around at the bar, and not because you actually should have them. You’ll promise yourself the next morning..”I’ll just skip them next year” but you never do. For me this hangover usually last till at least the winter meetings, if not the first signs of spring training. Not this year, I’m already wondering what’s next. Maybe it’s another winning season effecting my attitude. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

